The Abbey House Museum, located in Kirkstall, Leeds, is housed in the gatehouse of the ruined 12th-century Kirkstall Abbey. This Grade II* listed building is part of the Leeds Museums & Galleries group and is situated 3 miles north-west of Leeds city centre on the A65 road.
The museum opened its doors in July 1927. The ground floor is set out as an area of Victorian streets, illustrating a range of shops and services, including original shop fittings. The first street, Abbey Fold, opened in July 1954, followed by Harewood Square in 1955 and Stephen Harding Gate in 1958. The museum underwent a refurbishment between 1998 and 2001, funded by the National Lottery Heritage Fund.
Upstairs, the galleries feature childhood collections, community-curated displays, and temporary exhibitions. The museum has also been featured in the paranormal TV programme Most Haunted, where the crew experienced apparent paranormal incidents, including knocking and a piano playing by itself.
Kirkstall Abbey, adjacent to the museum, dates back to the twelfth century. Despite being abandoned due to Henry VIII’s Dissolution of Monasteries, the ruined abbey remains one of the most stunning tourist attractions that Leeds has to offer.